16 October 2012

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare

For those people who haven't read/heard of The Mortal Instrument Series the books are as follows:
1. City of Bones
2. City of Ashes
3. City of Glass
4. City of Fallen Angels
5. City of Lost Souls
and the 6th book is City of Heavenly Fire and it will be released in March 2014

The Mortal Instruments series is a story about a girl called Clary Fray who thinks she's "normal". She meets a boy at a club she's at with her best friend Simon, and he seems to be invisible to everyone else. He introduces himself as Jace Lightwood after Clary witnessed him and two other people killing a boy. Jace explains that the boy was a demon and then disappears. Clary thinks nothing of it until she spots Jace again, and of course, he's invisible to everyone else, again. Clary gets a distressing phone call from her mother telling her not to come home, and of course, Clary does. Clary arrives home to find the house trashed and her mother missing. She is then attacked by a demon and Clary uses a weapon that Jace gave her to kill the demon. Jace finds Clary and takes her to The Institute. When Clary wakes up she finds out that the world isn't what she thought. She finds out that Jace and the two other people from the club (Alec and Isabelle Lightwood) are Shadowhunters that protect humans or 'mundies' as they call the from demons. She also finds out that there are other supernatural beings like Werewolves and Vampires living in the city. Clary has to do her best to fit into this new world that was thrust upon her, and she finds out she more than fits in, she belongs in this world.

I absolutely love this series! I was kept on my toes with this series wondering what they could possibly do next, what would make the next book more amazing, how the story was going to play out, and every time I got a huge shock at the plot. There is no way that you can guess exactly how this story is going to work out because the minute you think you do, something comes along and completely destroys the happiness and then everything is in chaos again. Clary is definitely my favourite character in the book. She's impulsive, a fighter and never lets anyone decided what she can and can't do. She's absolutely hilarious most of the time and she's such a lovely person. She's the perfect main character. 

Jace, Isabelle and Alec are amazing characters as well: Jace with his sarcastic humour, smug attitude and sexy smiles; Isabelle with her strong nature and her beauty; and Alec with his parental attitude (because he's the oldest) and his down to earth personality. You couldn't ask for better characters in a book.
The plot of City of Bones had me hooked from the first chapter and I couldn't put it down until I finished it, and then I just really wanted to read the next one. Cassandra Clare did an amazing job writing these books because every time I finished one I desperately wanted the next one so I could find out what happened.  Not a lot of books have made me run up to library to order in the next one (because I'm a student and have no money to buy books!) but this series did. Each book brought a brand new story and lots of action that kept me hooked the whole way through the series. Now I don't know what I'm gonna do since City of Heavenly Fire ended on a huge cliffhanger and the next book isn't out until 2014! Cassandra, why are you torturing me?!

INSIST that you go and get a copy of this series RIGHT NOW and spend the next 2-3 weeks doing nothing but reading this series because it's just that AWESOME!

No comments:

Post a Comment